top of page

Wood Fall Welcome Sign


I decided that I wanted to make yet another Fall decor project. This project will be similar to a few projects following this one.

I needed some additional decor outside for my front porch. I really like how this adds to my home.

Here are the following supplies that you will need:

~Paint (I used craft paint and also some weather proof paint from home depot)

~Paint brushes (foam and Bristled)

~Paint stick and key

~X-Acto Knife

~Paper

~Wood (I got mine from the Home depot, it measures 1X12X4)

To begin, I went to the home depot and found some wood. Depending on how big you want your sign to be will determine how big your piece of wood will be.

Next I painted the base color onto the board. My aunt let me use some of her fancy paint. (She got it from Home depot) This paint was white and had a primer mixed in with it.

While the base coat was drying I got to work on cutting out templates using my X-Acto Knife. (I have fallen in love with my x-acto knife!) I found that cutting out stencils was so much easier with the x-acto knife rather than just a pair of scissors. But if you don't have one, you can also trace the letters lightly with a pencil onto the wood. This will show a light indent on the wood for you to paint in.

I found a font that I liked Microsoft Word and printed out the word "Welcome." Each letter was big enough to be on separate pages. To use the letters and size I used click HERE. I have also placed the stencil documents on my PRINTABLES page HERE.

I placed the paper on a cutting board and started cutting out the letter. If you are using letters such as O, B, P, R, or D; save the inside to use later! The picture below shows the letter L i cut out using my x-acto knife.

Once all of the letters were cut out, I placed them on my board and decided where I wanted each letter to go. Once I decided how I liked the letters, I used tape to secure each letter stencil. For me I liked them centered, but you can put them where ever you would like. The picture below shows the stencils taped down before I painted them. I learned that more tape is better than less in this craft. Especially on the smaller narrow sections of letters.

Next, I started to paint in the stencils. I realized that my thin printer paper was harder to work with than I thought. I would suggest using card stock or a thicker paper. I used a foam brush and black Apple Barrel paint. After I painted each letter, I took off the stencils. If you find smudges like I did, don't worry! I fixed my mistakes with the same base paint and a small paint brush, which worked great!! Make sure to let the stencil color dry first or else you get a mix of colors.

For the 'O' in "welcome" I really wanted to put a pumpkin in its place. So I found an image online that I liked and created my own stencil. Below is the stencil that I made. I cut out the black areas just like the letters with my x-acto knife. (Again, I am loving this knife!)

I placed the pumpkin stencil where I wanted it to go and taped it down. I painted the pumpkin orange using a foam brush and apple barrel paint. Click HERE to print the pumpkin stencil.

Once the pumpkin was painted I used a stencil with fall leaves that I found at Joann. You could also print and cut leaves just like I did with the pumpkin.

I used Orange, Yellow, Brown, and Red Apple Barrel Craft paint for the leaves.

Once all of the colored paint was dry, I went over the whole board with Mod Podge. I let the glue dry and then placed my welcome sign outside by my door!

I really enjoyed this project! I have been working with my aunts to create a similar project that I will post soon!

This project took about 3 hours with drying time and cost about $25.

stay tuned for another project coming soon!

Happy Crafting,

Jessica

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page