top of page

Wooden Pumpkin Patch


I got my idea for this project from a Sisters house in the ward. She had a similar one and I loved it so much I had to make my own! This was one of my first projects, so I don't have as many pictures, but I tried to explain the process with as much detail as possible.

Supplies:

~ 3 wooden blocks of different sizes

~ Paint and foam paint brushes

~ Ribbon

~ Sticks

~ Wire

~ Small wooden tag

Finding the wood for this project was a little easier for me, I have some connections. But you can get wood in any size at Home Depot or use what you have.

The wooden blocks need to have a little hole drilled on top to hold the sticks in place. The holes don't have to be big. I used a drill and went about an inch into the wood.

I had a really hard time decided what colors I wanted to paint these. I decided I liked a variety so I choose different colors. My favorite paint that I use is called Apple Barrel. It is a cheaper brand, but I swear by it! I used foam paint brushes which i feel worked the best for this craft.

On one of the pumpkins added some stripes with the colors of the other two pumpkins for even more variety. I really like how that accent pumpkin turned out.

Once the paint was dry, I took some sticks and glued them into the top holes of the pumpkins. I learned the hard way that glue is a must for this part! Other wise, the sticks will eventually fall out.

Then I added different ribbons and tied them around the sticks. I found various types of ribbons and even Raffia ribbon. I really like how the raffia ribbon gives it that fall feel!

For the pumpkin patch sign I used a small thin piece of wood I found at the craft store. This one already had holes in it, but I am sure that you can use a drill to make some holes. I used black paint as the base color, and I used a thin paint brush to paint the words "Pumpkin Patch" on.

Lastly, I took some wire and wrapped the pumpkins together. Then I fed the wire through the pumpkin patch sign and created a spiral effect on the excess wire; this helps to hold the sign in place. To create the spiral effect on the ends of the wire I just wrapped the wire around one of the paint sticks. You can even do this on different sections that go around the pumpkins!

I really enjoy seeing this craft in my house. It brings the feeling of fall to any room and it is unique!

Happy Crafting!

~Jessica

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page