top of page

Half Marathon Bib and Medal Holder


For Christmas this year, I really wanted to make my husband something special. After getting some ideas from amazon I decided I really wanted to make him a place to display his half marathon bibs and medals!

This project turned out much easier and less expensive than I thought it would be. I originally was going to just buy one on amazon for about $80. But I decided it would be more fun to make one. The total cost for all of the supplies ended up being about $20! What a steal!

Supplies:

~ Wooden board (I bought a crafty board from the craft store)

~ Sand paper (if you need to sand the board down)

~ Paint

~ Paint Brushes

~ Clips (to hold the bibs)

~ Screw - in - hooks

~ Saw tooth picture frame hangers

~ Hammer

~ Glue

First I sanded down the board. I did notice that the edges needed extra work. Once I got the board smooth I painted the board with two layers of green craft paint.

After the green paint dried I added "run" and "13.1" with white paint. I did use a ruler and map out where I wanted the detailing to go. If I were to make this again, I would probably move the detailing closer to the edge and even make it a little smaller. You can see on the main picture that some of my hubby's bibs are a little big and cover it.

Once all the painting was done, I used the ruler again and measured and marked where I wanted to place the bib clips and hooks. Next time I would probably use a different type of clip that holds better or even just use hooks for the bibs as well.

For the bib clips I used a hot glue to secure onto the board.

I screwed the hooks into the board just with my hands. It was so much easier than I thought it would be.

Then I flipped the board over to hammer in the saw tooth picture frame. You can find these pretty much any where. I just got a set off of Amazon because it was cheaper. These are also super easy to use and don't take much effort to hammer in.

My husband loved this gift! I am really happy with the outcome! He already almost has the whole board filled, which means I will get to make another one! :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page