top of page

Spring = flower planting time


One of my most favorite parts about the beginning of summer, besides the warm weather, is planting flowers. I know that once I have a house of my own I plan to have a beautiful flower garden just like my grandma. Growing up I always helped my grandma plant flowers all around her yard and even took care of them while I was living with her. I can attribute my green thumb to her. My grandma taught me all about different types of flowers, how to correctly plant them, which ones need more sunlight or shade, and how to care for them.  Because of all of the countless years of planting flowers with my grandmothers and my parents, I have gained a love of having my own little flower garden each year. 

Perennials vs. Annuals: 

When choosing flowers to either plant in the ground or in pots, it's good to know the difference between perennials and annuals. The main difference between the two is annuals grow and last only during one season, and perennials come back every year. There are so many different types of flowers, but my favorite right now are annuals because I only have flower pots. I have previously tried to grow perennials in flower pots and the flowers really struggled and didn't last.

So if you have a nice yard like I hope to have one day, I would definitely suggest planting some perennials and even some annuals. 

My Favorite Types of Flowers:

Over the years I have really grown to enjoy planting and growing various types of flowers. Below are some of my most favorite and how to care for them. 

Wave Petunias

One of my most favorite types of flowers to plant are wave petunias! They look the same as regular petunias, but they grow differently. Petunias generally grow just like a normal flower on the top of the stem. But waves grow out and create a floor of flowers if in the ground or if in a pot they spill over the edge. This is why I love to plant wave petunias! 

Another reason I love to plant wave petunias is because of all of the different colors and cross breeds. If you like to have matching flower colors wave petunias are the way to go. 

Geraniums 

Geraniums are another one of my go to flowers! One of the main reasons that I enjoy these flowers is because they remind me of my grandma. She always had a few flower pots full of assorted geraniums. 

Geraniums are super pretty and also remind me of pom-pom balls once they are fully bloomed. They come in many various colors and grow tall. 

Marigolds

Another go to flower for me. Marigolds are a great center for flower pots and are always bright! They mainly come in orange and yellow, my favorite, but you may be able to find other colors depending where you look.

Watering:

The easiest way to know whether flower pots need watering is to stick your finger directly into the soil and determine if it is moist or dry. I usually will water my flower pots every other day. However if it is particularly hot I will water more frequently. 

Over watering can cause the flowers to not grow properly just like under watering. I would suggest to check the weather and the soil almost every day to ensure the flowers are getting just what they need. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page