top of page

Iron On Fabric Storage Boxes

As I have been receiving more and more gives and purchasing more baby items to get ready for my little girl coming in less than 5 weeks, I realized I needed to do something to organize the changing table shelves a little better. They were a mess and it was starting to drive me crazy.

I had found one cute storage box, but I was struggling to find any that matched the nursery colors, other than gray, or that even fit on the shelves.

I ended up going to Walmart the other day and found some storage bins that were the perfect size that I wanted. However, they were gray! And like i said earlier, I really wanted more colors other than a gray nursery.

after purchasing a few, I then decided to go to my favorite craft store to get ideas on how to change the color or add to the color.

While wandering the store, I found some iron on vinyl made by Cricut in many different colors and styles! Click here to go to the official Cricut website to see all of the different colors and patterns. I ended up buying one solid color and then a package with three different patterns that matched the nursery colors.

Here are all the supplies I used for this project:

~ Fabric Storage Boxes

~ Scissors

~ Epoxy Knife

~ Sharpie

~ Iron On Vinyl

~ Iron

Start by turning on your iron to the cotton setting.

Begin tracing the front of the fabric box onto the back of the vinyl with a sharpie.

Next cut out the tracing with scissors and the handle hole with the epoxy knife.

Continue to trace and cut until you have the desired amount of vinyl cut.

I decided to only do the front and back of the fabric boxes while leaving the sides uncovered.

Once the iron is hot and your pieces are cut, lay the vinyl on top of the desired section you want to cover and iron the vinyl for about a minute or longer until you start to see the clear film start to separate from the vinyl.

Gently pull the film off. I found that going at an angle was the easiest.

Iron again over the vinyl. Make sure if you are covering any corners to go over those areas really well with the iron.

And that's it!

This project was super easy, and I am loving how these storage boxes turned out! I will probably end up doing one or two more in the future as I get more baby items and decide how to store everything!

I am super excited for my baby girl to come in just a few weeks! I am loving how the nursery is coming along and how cute these boxes add to it!

Happy Crafting,

Jessica

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page