top of page

Welcome Summer Wreath


I love being able to make wreaths for other people to enjoy! So when my aunt asked me to make her a fun summer wreath, I couldn't say no!

Deciding on the summer colors was a little bit harder than usual, because Joann had all of their fall flowers and decor and not a whole ton of options for summer flowers. But I am glad they still had bright and fun summer flowers to choose from.

I happened to wander through the wood section and found A welcome wood cutout THAT i FELT LIKE WOULD REALLY ADD TO THE WREATH. I also decided to be adventurous and get an oval shaped wreath rather than the regular round ones that I have made in the past.

Supplies

~ Grapevine wreath

~ Flower stems

~ Wood Welcome cutout

~ Hot glue gun

~ white Apple barrel paint

~ foam paint brusH

I started to assemble the wreath the same as the ones I have made in the past. to see detailed instructions click here.

one of the differences between this wreath and the other grapevine wreaths I have made was working with the welcome wood word. For this you need to plan out where it will go before placing and gluing flowers. ONe of the big determining factors was where I would attach the welcome word. I found a spot on the wreath that would provide enough support and wouldn't fall off as easily.

Once I found the perfect spot for the wood welcome word to go, I started figuring out a design with the flowers I had. It took me a little while to make a design that I liked, but after a few minutes of trying different ideas, I found one that worked really well.

Next I started gluing the flowers into place. Once all of the flowers were glued and placed where i wanted them, I started to paint the wood welcome word. For the paint I used white apple Barrel craft paint and a sponge brush. I ended up doing a few layers of paint and made sure to cover all of the little nooks and crannies too. I found that it helps to hold the word at different angles to see the missed sections.

Once the wood welcome word was dry, I started gluing it to the wreath. I found a few spots that worked really well to hold it in place. The big branches definitely hold the word in place better!

I love how this wreath turned out! I really enjoy all of the bright colors and the wood welcome word! I will be using more wood words in the future! My aunt really liked the wreath and I am excited to see where she puts it in her home.

I am excited for the new project I am working on that involves sewing! I am really new to using a sewing machine, but I am excited to try something new and also make something for my baby girl! I can't believe I only have about 10 weeks left.

Happy Crafting,

Jessica

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page