top of page

Nursery Wreath


I feel that I haven't made a craft or posted anything in a while! After finding out we are having a baby girl, my husband and I started deciding on Names. We had two in mind, and have only been calling our baby by one name and it has stuck.

I thought I wouldn't do any theme for the nursery, but after looking on pinterest and seeing all of the cute options and colors I decided on Navy, Coral, Grey, and Mint green! Picking out the nursery colors gave me so many project ideas that I just had to go to the craft store.

I ended up buying tons of project materials as well as flowers for this project!

This nursery wreath follows the same steps as a previous Embroidery Hoop wreath I made this spring. These wreaths are so simple and take an hour or less to make once you have all of your supplies!

Supplies Needed:

~ Embroidery Hoop (any size, I used an 18")

~ Flowers

~ Wire Cutters

~ Floral Wire

~ hot glue and glue gun

~ Optional: craft paint

STEP 1: Paint (Optional)

I decided I really wanted to go with colors that matched my nursery theme. So i decided to paint the embroidery hoop grey. this step is optional, but I like that it adds extra color to the whole picture. I only did a one layer, but the color was perfect for what I wanted.

STEP 2: Design

Once the paint was dry I started coming up with a design and layout of how I wanted the wreath to look. I came up with a few different arrangements to give myself enough ideas to work with. I like to lay the arrangement on top of the wreath and even flat on the table to visualize how I want the wreath to look before cutting and gluing.

STEP 3: Cut, Wire, Glue

Once you have gotten a good idea for the design, start trimming the stems. I always trim less so that the stems aren't too short to work with.

When cutting/trimming the stems use wire cutters. Lay the stem on top of the wreath to see how much length you need. You can always trim more if the stems are too long.

Once you have cut the stems to the right length, it is time to wrap the stems in wire around the hoop. Use more wire than you think. The more times you wrap it around the hoop , the more secure the stems are. I found that starting to wrap a little wire around the stem first and then the rest around the hoop holds the flowers better. You can even wrap multiple stems together like I did.

I like to work from the outside in. this helps to hide the stems and wires and makes the whole process easier. I like to do a little bit on one side, and then a little on the opposite side to make sure everything looks even. I like to add a little bit of hot glue to the wire to help secure it in place as well.

As soon as I am happy with the side arrangements, I begin on the center. For this part I do work from the inside out. Doing one flower at a time. I have found that taking the flower completely off the stem and gluing the base of the flower is easiest.

I ended up using quite a bit of hot glue for the big flowers to make sure they wouldn't move. I used the same process to add some green leaves underneath the big flowers to hide some stems and wire. It worked really well!

Step 4: Hang, Adjust, Enjoy

Once your wreath is complete, hang it up on the wall! This will help you to adjust any stems or see where you need to add extra flowers or leaves to fill in gaps.

And that is it!

I love how well the colors go together and I may even make a smaller one. Who knows... I am officially half way through my pregnancy and I get more excited every day to see my little girl! I am excited to make more nursery decor and share them with you! I am super excited to add to the nursery decor, so stay tuned!

Happy Crafting,

Jessica

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page